Changing Diapers

I’m looking at my blog and realizing that I have let way too much time go since writing.

Life has demanded attention like a baby with a soiled diaper.  You cannot abuse your responsibilities, you cannot put off the necessary to indulge in the wants, and you cannot neglect the baby.  Life required attention and took over most waking moments.  It need succor and work and took over in the way that life sometimes takes over without thought for the creative spark that can light the darkness and illuminate the soul.

My attention is still focused on the needs rather than the wants and only now has realized parity with my need to write.  So I am writing.  Today I will write, tomorrow I will write and I will squeeze the time into each day to come back to my writing.  It can be argued that writing is a want that can be forever pushed to the bottom of the pile … but that argument will not come from me.

Writing is necessary.  It may not be the biggest necessity but it is a necessity to me, nonetheless.  It has wormed its way to the top of my list and has demanded attention.  It is the current soiled baby and I must attend her while the others lay sleeping and momentarily content.  I hear the others stirring though, and know that my time with this child is short, that I must again attend to others.

I finish attending this adored baby and pick her up to snuggle her for yet a minute more.  I hold her close and bask in the warmth of being together; knowing our time together is, as always, too short.

I will return soon, dear one.  Sleep well.

Taking care of baby

About tuesdaydangergirl

The quintessential pessimistically optimistic meat-eating vegetarian hippie chick who believes wholeheartedly in peace, love, toast and sox but not necessarily in that order. And the tiara. It's all about the tiara ;) View all posts by tuesdaydangergirl

Go on, comment - you know you want to

